Region: Austria

Austrian tax law data retention criticised

Regulators and politicians have raised concerns about a new Austrian digital advertising tax law which requires the mass storage of location data.

26 May 2020

Schrems NGO attacks Android

Max Schrems’ NGO has filed an Austrian GDPR complaint against Google’s Android mobile operating system, alleging it fails to gather proper consent from data subjects.

14 May 2020

Jelinek: data protection doesn’t hinder covid-19 fight

Andrea Jelinek, who heads the EDPB and Austria’s data watchdog, tells GDR how the covid-19 crisis has affected the organisation and data protection across Europe.

17 April 2020

Austrian postal service fined for building customer political profiles

In a decision that broadens the definition of what constitutes personal data, Austria’s data protection authority has fined the country’s postal service €18 million for combining its customers’ data to predict their political leanings.

31 October 2019

ECJ: EU content removal rules can apply worldwide

The European Court of Justice has ruled EU courts can order platforms like Facebook to remove content for users worldwide, a week after the same court said that EU law did not explicitly rule out a global right to be forgotten.

03 October 2019

Austrian court to hear complaint against EU passenger record retention

The Austrian data watchdog has rejected a complaint against the EU Passenger Name Record directive, meaning it will now proceed to Austria’s Federal Administrative Court.

30 September 2019

Austrian postal service criticised for building and selling political profiles

An Austrian regional court has ordered the Austrian postal service to pay a customer €800 in damages after the company built profiles detailing customers’ political affiliations, in some cases selling them on to political parties.

19 August 2019

Austrian high court ends Schrems standing saga

Austria’s Supreme Court has upheld a lower court’s ruling that privacy activist Max Schrems can sue Facebook in an Austrian court.

12 June 2019

Platforms can be forced to delete illegal data globally, ECJ told

A European Court of Justice advocate-general has said EU member state courts can order platforms to find and delete comments that are “identical” and “equivalent” to illegal content – and can force that deletion to have a global effect.

04 June 2019

Austrian court sides with Schrems

A Vienna court has ruled that privacy activist Max Schrems has the right to submit a lawsuit against Facebook under the GDPR.

27 March 2019

Get unlimited access to all Global Data Review content