Region: European Union

Final EDPB supplementary measures largely unchanged

The European Data Protection Board’s finalised supplementary measures guidelines are broadly similar to a draft issued last year, and are set to make GDPR compliance tougher for EU data exporters.

22 June 2021

Johannes Caspar: Facebook/WhatsApp, urgency and the one-stop-shop

Hamburg data protection chief Johannes Caspar is one of the EU’s most active enforcers. Ahead of his planned departure on 28 June, Caspar told GDR about his office’s pioneering track record, and his frustration with the GDPR’s one-stop-shop.

21 June 2021

EU states approve UK GDPR adequacy

EU member states have voted in favour of UK adequacy, edging the country closer to full approval and unrestricted bilateral data flows.

17 June 2021

German court to scrutinise RTB

An Irish NGO has alleged that regulators have failed to act against the online advertising industry, and filed a lawsuit that aims to shut down the real-time bidding system.

16 June 2021

ECJ clarifies one-stop-shop rules

Europe’s highest court has ruled that non-lead data protection authorities can take action against cross-border GDPR infringements in certain circumstances.

15 June 2021

Instagram ECJ case dropped

The ECJ will no longer be asked to clarify the extent to which courts can force platforms to disclose the identities of account operators.

14 June 2021

Three years of GDPR: a rocky journey

Valérie Heremans, Ceyhun Pehlivan and Saverio Puddu of Linklaters track the rollout of the GDPR since 2018.

10 June 2021

ECJ adopts pro-aggregator database rights stance

The European Court of Justice has ruled that database rights only prevent online data scraping and reuse when those activities affect database makers’ investment.

07 June 2021

UK and EU enforcers target Facebook’s data practices

The UK and EU’s antitrust watchdogs have opened parallel investigations into Facebook to examine if it uses data collected through its digital advertising service to obtain an unfair competitive advantage in certain online markets.

07 June 2021

Noyb targets sites over "cookie banner terror"

Noyb has sent hundreds of draft complaints to EU websites over cookie banner tactics it says are in breach of GDPR requirements, and threatened to escalate the complaints in cases of non-compliance.

02 June 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Data Review content