Region: European Union

ECJ advocate-general says consumer groups can sue Facebook

A European Court of Justice official has supported the right of consumer groups to launch data protection lawsuits, potentially opening a new front in GDPR battles against Facebook and others across the EU.

02 December 2021

European Commission hit with complaint over Irish enforcement

An NGO has filed a complaint with the European Ombudsman over the commission’s alleged failure to force Ireland to apply the GDPR, but the Irish regulator maintains the figures used in the claim are inaccurate.

30 November 2021

ECHR rules on right to be forgotten

The Strasbourg court has held that requiring a publisher to delist an online news story did not violate his right to freedom of expression.

26 November 2021

Digital Markets Act passes EU council, but scope could still increase

While European ministers are broadly enthusiastic about the Digital Markets Act, some are already preparing for a battle over the respective roles of the European Commission and national authorities.

25 November 2021

Irish DPC bars noyb from Facebook procedure

Ireland’s data regulator has allegedly removed the privacy campaign group from its procedure against Facebook after it refused to sign a confidentiality agreement – an experience echoed by other privacy activists dealing with the regulator.

23 November 2021

EDPB clarifies GDPR data transfers

European data protection regulators have appeared to support the development of new standard contractual clauses for non-EU processing in draft guidelines that clarify personal data transfers under the GDPR.

22 November 2021

ECJ urged to restate data retention rules – again

A European Court of Justice advocate-general has reiterated that member states’ bulk data interception could breach EU law.

18 November 2021

Future of AI regulation becomes GDPR battleground

MEPs have pushed back against assertions that new AI legislation will involve a reassessment of the GDPR’s accomplishments, arguing that the landmark legislation will still be relevant in the next phase of data regulation.

09 November 2021

MEP: GDPR a warning for AI rules – not an example

Artificial intelligence regulation in the EU needs to have a lighter touch than previous data legislation, a leading MEP has told GDR.

05 November 2021

Lawmakers clash over inclusion of EU firms in Digital Markets Act

The shadow rapporteur for the EU Digital Markets Act has spoken to GDR about her party’s “red line” against efforts to narrow the scope of the new legislation.

29 October 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Data Review content