Region: European Union

UK could lose out on database rights, government warns

A no-deal Brexit could see database rights become unenforceable for UK rights holders, the UK’s government has said.

28 September 2018

Multiple data protection authorities may have stake in enforcement action, regulators say

The location of data processing and level of a country’s citizens’ concern play a larger role in determining lead supervisory authorities than the location of company headquarters, regulators have said.

19 September 2018

EU probes Amazon use of merchant data

The European Commission has begun a preliminary antitrust investigation into Amazon’s use of data from merchants that sell through its online retail platform.

19 September 2018

Watchdogs unlikely to ever overlook GDPR documentation requirements, says lawyer

Data protection regulators will seldom – if ever – overlook data documentation requirements, regardless of company size, according to Osborne Clarke partner Ulrich Baumgartner.

18 September 2018

Ad tech facing EU privacy complaints

Privacy campaigners have filed complaints with the UK and Irish data protection authorities against widespread advertising technology industry practices and the guidelines and frameworks that govern them.

17 September 2018

UK-EU data flow at threat from no deal Brexit, says UK government

The UK government has urged businesses to prepare standard contractual clauses for data transfers with the EU in case the UK leaves the bloc without a formal agreement in place.

14 September 2018

EU Parliament agrees changes to controversial copyright law

The European Parliament has voted through amendments to the incoming Copyright Directive aimed at shoring up content creators’ rights online, but some observers fear the new rules could censor the internet and place onerous requirements on platform operators.

13 September 2018

Google and CNIL clash on global right to be forgotten

France’s data protection watchdog has insisted that delistings that follow right to be forgotten requests should apply globally, despite arguments from Google, Microsoft and a host of NGOs that such requests should only apply within the EU.

11 September 2018

Japan commits to additional safeguards as EU adequacy process begins

The European Commission has launched the adoption of its data protection adequacy agreement with Japan, which involves the latter implementing safeguards for personal data transferred from the EU.

10 September 2018

EU report calls for information sharing to aid cyber insurance industry

10 August 2018

Get unlimited access to all Global Data Review content