Region: European Union

Microsoft begins EU data localisation process

Microsoft will let its commercial and public sector customers store all of their data in the EU from 2023, in what appears to be the first concrete response of a major cloud provider to the Schrems II ruling.

10 May 2021

EU unveils long-awaited AI regulation

The European Commission has formally proposed a new law regulating artificial intelligence, in a major data policy development which includes scope for fines even higher than those available through the GDPR.

21 April 2021

EDPB: international agreements need to be reviewed

The European Data Protection Board has urged EU national governments to review international agreements in areas as diverse as tax and police cooperation to check for clashes with the GDPR and the Schrems II judgment.

19 April 2021

EDPB cautiously blesses UK adequacy

EU data protection authorities have given the go-ahead to the European Commission’s decision to approve data flows to the UK – but urged the commission to keep a close watch on the UK.

15 April 2021

Civil society hits out at “weak” ePrivacy proposal

A coalition of civil society groups has called on the European Parliament to block perceived attempts by the EU Council to water down ePrivacy rules.

14 April 2021

GDR Special Report Q1 2021: AI regulation

GDR explores the European Commission's AI regulation plans.

31 March 2021

GDR Special Report Q1 2021: Data Act

GDR explores the provisions of the EU's planned Data Act.

31 March 2021

GDR Special Report Q1 2021: Data Governance Act

GDR explores the provisions of the EU's planned Data Governance Act.

31 March 2021

GDR Special Report Q1 2021: NIS 2 Directive

GDR explores the provisions of the EU's planned NIS 2 Directive.

31 March 2021

GDR Special Report: EU data reform - risks and opportunities

A raft of new European legislation will affect corporate data acquisition, use and security across the EU. GDR sets out what companies need to know.

31 March 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Data Review content