Region: European Union

Schrems attempts to kickstart data transfer enforcement

Max Schrems’ activist group Noyb has filed 101 complaints to data protection authorities across Europe, in an attempt to force regulators to enforce the landmark Schrems II ruling.

18 August 2020

Regulators press on with data transfer efforts

European regulators are pushing ahead with work on codes of conduct, certification and binding corporate rules.

17 August 2020

European governments threatened over data regulator funding

A senior European Commission figure has promised that the EU stands ready to act against national governments that fail to properly fund their data protection authorities.

10 August 2020

GDR analysis: European regulators buckling under Schrems pressure

Understaffed and under-resourced European data protection authorities are likely to struggle with the new responsibilities handed to them by the Schrems II decision, GDR has found.

06 August 2020

Schrems II: practical implications

Sidley Austin partner William Long and associate Lauren Cuyvers assess Schrems II’s impact on international business, and offer advice on the path ahead.

04 August 2020

EU targets hackers

The EU has imposed asset freezes and travel bans on the suspected perpetrators of cyberattacks that knocked out major companies essential infrastructure across Europe.

03 August 2020

Online content-sharing platforms breathe a sigh of relief

Platform operators will welcome a recent European Court of Justice advocate-general opinion on their liability for hosting illegal content, says Natalie Ellerby of Linklaters in London.

29 July 2020

EDPB warns of looming UK binding corporate rules deadline

Companies using binding corporate rules greenlit in the UK must seek approval for the transfer mechanism from other EU regulators by the end of the year.

23 July 2020

Exclusive: Amazon to continue using SCCs for US data transfer

Amazon’s cloud division will continue to use standard contractual clauses to transfer data to the US despite the Schrems II decision, GDR has learned.

20 July 2020

Berlin data commissioner takes hardline Schrems position

The shockwave of the Schrems II decision continues as the Berlin data protection authority has suggested that EU companies should move their data from the US to Europe – and that data transfers to the US using standard contractual clauses (SCCs) cannot continue.

20 July 2020

Get unlimited access to all Global Data Review content