Region: Belgium

NGOs and EU governments clash over bulk data interception

The Belgian, French and UK governments have rejected arguments by NGOs that intelligence agencies’ collection of bulk communications data should be subject to EU law, arguing that to do so would endanger national security and their ability to prevent crime.

09 September 2019

CLOUD Act conflicts with GDPR, EDPB says

The European Data Protection Board has said that an international agreement between the US and the EU is required to ensure that information requests under the US Clarifying Lawful Overseas Use of Data Act’s (CLOUD Act) comply with European law.

15 July 2019

ECJ: Skype VoIP service can be subject to telecoms regulation

The European Court of Justice has ruled that Skype’s voice over IP function is an electronic communications service within the meaning of EU telecommunications rules, potentially subjecting it to sectoral regulation.

06 June 2019

Privacy NGO files new wave of ad tech complaints

Privacy campaigners have alleged breaches of the GDPR by real-time bidding practices for ads in nine EU countries.

05 June 2019

Belgium issues first GDPR fine against politician

Belgium’s data watchdog has fined a mayor who misused data for campaigning purposes.

29 May 2019

Ad tech GDPR complaints pile up

Privacy activists have filed fresh GDPR complaints targeting ad tech to four more EU data protection authorities.

22 May 2019

Belgian Facebook enforcement heads to ECJ

The Brussels Court of Appeal has referred regulatory action relating to Facebook to the European Court of Justice, asking it to clarify which data protection authorities can take companies to court over cross-border data processing issues.

09 May 2019

Huntons promotes in Brussels

Hunton Andrews Kurth has promoted counsel David Dumont to partner in its Brussels office.

15 April 2019

DLA Piper promotes in eight countries

DLA Piper has promoted 11 technology lawyers to partner in its latest round of promotions.

03 April 2019

Belgium appoints new data protection commissioners

Observers have welcomed the appointment of Belgium’s new privacy commissioners, more than a year after the law establishing the new authority came into effect.

01 April 2019

Get unlimited access to all Global Data Review content